"I Heart..." series by Lindsey Kelk || Book Review

20:21:00



A bit of a different style post for you, but I really wanted to talk to you about this book series, as I loved them so much.
I first read them back in around March time, but I recently started reading them again, after forgetting how much I loved them!
If you haven't heard of them, there's five books in the series, I Heart New York, I Heart Hollywood, I Heart Paris, I Heart Vegas and I Heart London. They are by an author called "Lindsey Kelk".

The books themselves are all addictive, I literally couldn't put them down, which is probably why I read all five of them within three weeks, maybe even less than that! (I read books so quickly, because when I start, I literally cannot stop haha.) They are an "easy read". You don't have to think about them too much, you can just enjoy reading. They would be perfect to read on a beach holiday, or if you were trying to relax. The storyline itself is the kind of typical "romantic" story, but with quite a lot of twists. For instance, the main character does a bit of blogging, like me, which I love! I don't want to give too much away about the novels, but i'll just warn you, you will become very attached to the main characters. I know I did anyway! I find the character's are easy to relate to, as I find that in some books, the main character is always "perfect", and the main character: Angela, is by no means perfect. She makes mistakes, she's not a skinny minnie. She also loves fashion and makeup, and traveling, just like me! (not that i've traveled a lot, but i'd like to!)

This is the description on "GoodReads"  for the first book in the series, "I Heart New York":

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, get ready for the summer debut of the year...When you're running away from a broken heart, there's only one place to go...Adjusting tiaras at the foot of the aisle, Angela and her best friend prepare for the wedding of the year. But events don't go as planned. And when a girl is in possession of a crumpled bridesmaid dress - and can't go home - New York (for the very first time) seems like an excellent idea. Angela's new friend Jenny Lopez gives Angela a whirlwind tour of the city that never sleeps, and a makeover. Who hasn't dreamed of starting afresh with a sassy New York wardrobe, a new haircut and a trip to the make-up counter? Before she knows it, the new Angela is getting over her broken heart by having dinner with two different boys. And, best of all, she gets to write about it in her fabulous new blog. But it's one thing telling readers all about your romantic dilemmas. It's another trying to figure them out for yourself! Warm, funny and unputdownable, I Heart New York is an unforgettable debut.

I was drawn straight away, bu the first five words, as I am a massive fan of Sophie Kinsella's books, and I must have read most of her's, and there isn't one i've hated. Because of that I was sure I would enjoy Lindsey Kelk's style of writing, and I wasn't wrong. I agree that her style is similar to Sophie Kinsella's, but that is not a bad thing, in my opinion!

After reading all five of these books, it made me want to go to all five of these places, just because Lindsay Kelk makes them sound so glamorous, and fabulous. 
I find that sometimes when authors do a series, they tend to get worse, so by the fifth one it wouldn't be as well written, or it would be repetitive and boring, but with this series, they only got better. You think the first one was good, then wait till the fifth one!

Lindsey Kelk has an ability that not many authors have, and that is that you will be really drawn into the characters, and really connect with them. It's one of those book series that I could not put down. I just enjoyed reading them so much. I would definitely say that they are aimed at a younger audience, maybe under 30? Then again i'm terrible at judging the target age range.

The books made me laugh a lot, and I now also really want to hang out with Angela I loved reading about how she deals with particular choices, and the parts where she went shopping were great, as, just like anything I read, I painted up a perfect picture in my head of what Angela was wearing. I am desperate to talk about the plot, but I really don't want to give anything away, but i'll end it on this. I really really really want my own "Alex".

This is my first time ever talking about a book on my blog, and I know it was terrible, but it was hard to say anything without spoiling anything.

However, if you have read the series, want to talk to me about them, (i would love to hear from you, plus, I need someone to talk to about it!) then feel free to email me (erindocherty3@gmail.com), and we can get excited over how great the book series were together, yay! thanks for reading!


You Might Also Like

0 comments

About Me

Like us on Facebook

Popular Posts